Alabama QB Mac Jones wins Manning Award

Alabama’s Mac Jones on Tuesday was named the winner of the 2020 Manning Award, presented to the nation’s top quarterback.

The redshirt junior guided the No. 1 Crimson Tide (13-0) to the College Football Playoff national championship, completing 77.4 percent of his passes for 4,500 yards with 41 touchdowns and four interceptions.

Jones, who finished third in the Heisman Trophy voting (won by teammate DeVonta Smith), declared for the 2021 NFL Draft last week.

The Manning Award, presented annually since 2004 by the Sugar Bowl committee, was created to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie Manning and his sons, Peyton and Eli.

“It was quite a year for Mac Jones and the Alabama football team,” Archie Manning said in a release. “We had a lot of outstanding quarterbacks around the country, but I don’t think any player directed his offense as efficiently and as effectively as Mac.”

The other finalists this year included Clemson’s Trevor Lawrence, Ohio State’s Justin Fields, Notre Dame’s Ian Book and Florida’s Kyle Trask.

Jones is the first Alabama quarterback to win the award, which went to LSU’s Joe Burrow in 2019.